Thursday, 15 March 2018

Little Maryam - book review




Little Maryam is the debut novel by Hamid Baig and was launched on the republic day of India, this year. After the launch on 26th January 2018, the novel has been listed on the lists of bestsellers under different categories and with different phrases. However, the common thing that comes while describing this novel is that Little Maryam is a romantic novel and it can be put in the romance genre. Is it so? Whatever be the case, today, I will be writing my review for this quick-selling and popular novel by Hamid which has been appreciated by the readers and book bloggers in India as well as the critics alike. 

Monday, 12 March 2018

American Maharajah - book review


American Maharajah is the second novel written by USA based author, Mark Stephen Levy. Exclusively published in India, the novel has been doing very well among the readers in India because it deals with a story which is directly connected to a village (imaginary) in Rajasthan which is popular in India for its kings and queens from the past. Mark begins the novel with an invocation of the past - the time when a prince has come back from the dead and after his arrival, the spring has vanished from that state of Bharathambhhor. 

Monday, 5 February 2018

Freedom from the Known - book review



Freedom from the Known is a book by very famous Indian spiritual leader J Krishnamurti. In this book, the author's (or better, the speaker Krishnamurti's) thoughts are collected in the form of chapters and presented to the readers who want to seek a life which they can enjoy without any worry and difficulty in the heart and soul. The motive that is dealt in this book by Jiddu Krishnamurti is to free oneself from the social bondage and yet remaining very much within the society and enjoying the life as it is, without making a great deal of fuss.  

Thursday, 18 January 2018

To The Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf



Coming to the novel, much debated in the 20th century, To The Lighthouse by Virginia Woold, we can say one thing with confidence or at least, conviction. The novel is lesser a novel and more a psychological journey into the psyche of humanity - the then humanity which had a grand grip over the thoughts and actions of human beings - dilemma, delusion, indecisiveness, and much more. Woolf has clearly portrayed a picture which is lesser a whole and more a fragment which shows the fragmented human life which was not sure of anything. To The Lighthouse is lesser the light and more the darkness of hopelessness and dismay. A novel, necessary it was then, to show us how meek we were and still continue to be. 

Wednesday, 10 January 2018

Rise of Hindi and Regional Language Literature in India

The rise of Hindi literature or literature in the local and regional languages of India is certainly a good sign for the lovers of Indian literature. Literature written in English, no doubt, is very important as it directly represents the Indian on a global stage without any decoding needed. However, we cannot deny that there are the talents on Indian streets who don't know English language but they do deserve the highlight and focus as their imagination and power of perception is no way lesser than those who write only in English. In the recent years, we must be happy knowing that the literature in regional languages along with Hindi has gone to a record height. We have more and more authors who are willing to contribute to the culminative outcome of Indian literature in their language. They are getting popular as well as their book is also selling in good numbers. 

Wednesday, 3 January 2018

Amitav Ghosh & Arundhati Roy - the fiction beyond fiction

Comparing Amitav Ghosh with Arundhati Roy might seem an act of comparing apples with oranges; however, such an analogy gives the readers or the person who is comparing a chance to understand these two authors rather closely. Today, I will be doing the same as I want to take it a little further. I have read the novels written by these two and have found them really subtle and a little awe-inspiring as well. Moreover, what else do you want when you read a novel? A deep fiction, an artful plot and a decisive conclusion - may be that people want something other and few extra miles but I am happy with this things. So, do I get all these in the novels written by Arundhati Roy and Amitav Ghosh? Yes, I do get these things. However, I do get something extra as well and let me tell you what's that and how do these two differ from each other. 

Wednesday, 20 December 2017

Despite Stolen Dreams - review



Book - Despite Stolen Dreams
Author - Anita Krishan 
Publisher - FingerPrint Publishers
Pages - 303 
ISBN: 9788175994669


Contemporary fiction in India could seldom offer us something more than entertainment because authors have been indulging in the 'fair' practice of offering the 'fair' literary output to the youths of the country and they are very well away from the real fiction which could be called literary. A guy and a girl and many guys and many girls and the game of the fiction is played like this. Meaningful and purposeful literature are seldom found happening on this playground but sometimes the authors like Anita Krishan do make it happen - serious and visionary fiction with the qualities which qualify for a competition on the global front - leaving this usual contemporary fiction very far behind.