Sunday, 19 November 2017

With You; Without You - book review



What else could be joyous than reading on a weekend? I love reading my books and sometimes try the new ones whenever I get a long weekend for my leisure and hobbies. This time, it was the number of Prabhat Ranjan’s debut book With You; Without You – the one that I have mentioned in a previous post. I began reading the book on this Friday and finished it this morning. And believe me, the book was very much close to a gripping novel which encircles your thoughts and motivates you to finish asap – and Prabhat’s debut With You; Without You was the same! 

Sunday, 5 November 2017

Ashish Dalal - a new beginning in Hindi Literature



Ashish Dalal is an author who believes in delivering to the audience quality literature which does not only entertain them but also tell them about various things – in the abstract and in physical as well. He talks about relationships; he talks about love; he talks about friendship; he talks about various forms of essential elements in life… and he talks them wonderfully! You cannot escape his short stories once you start reading him! Ashish Dalal is going to be the next writer to watch for in the field of Hindi writing and BRW is sure about this! To know more about Ashish Dalal as an author, keep on reading this article. 

Thursday, 2 November 2017

What am I reading in November 2017?

 Readers, you need to mark the day! And that day is every day! A day when you read nothing is just like a day which is barren and waste and I can feel what you would be feeling on such a day – totally waste and totally waste! A day without reading in the life of an active reader is just like a day without practice in the life of a singer who sings every day! So, you must have understood how much is the importance of reading in the life of us – the active readers! And today, I will be writing about the books I have selected for my November 2017 Reading list. Here you go: 

Friday, 20 October 2017

Shilpa Raj - the author with a cause!



You might have read the success stories or the overnight fame stories of different authors who have written a number of works after the first one. Some might have managed to ride the wave of fame received for the first work and others might have faded in oblivion after the initial shock wave… today, I am writing about an author whose debut has sent positivism among the readers because this author is not from a flowery background and she did not write a fiction to get her name on the list of the women who write. Shilpa Raj has made her debut with her memoir, The Elephant Chaser’s Daughter and after the initial release in India and the worldwide release, she has been getting her reputation only wide and tall around the world and many book critics and readers have sent her ‘thumbs up’ for her successful debut and the theme that she has chosen for that. She has written about herself giving an opportunity to the readers to connect with her story and make it about themselves… 

Wednesday, 18 October 2017

Uske Hisse Ka Pyar by Ashish Dalal - Exclusive Preview

Uske Hisse Ka Pyar is the upcoming debut book, a short story collection, authored by a well-known author from Gujarat, Ashish Dalal. Ashish is a writer who rather focuses creating a world in his fiction which highlights some values and ideas which are essential for life. The current one, Uske Hisse Ka Pyar will be focusing on the core values of love and relationships. The book will be available for pre-order on Amazon by November mid and the book will be formally launched in December 2017. Here we are presenting to you a quick insider preview of the book. 

Sunday, 15 October 2017

Bleeding Queens | Review



Bleeding Queens is the debut novel by an author, so promising in her content and vision, Palak Kundra. The author comes from Amritsar and you can clearly see the Punjabi tilt in her debut novel, the tone of the characters, the names and even their actions. Nevertheless, the agony that the central character in the novel goes through and her retaliation, are something which could easily be shared by the women across the nation… Palak Kundra has written her debut novel about the menace of rape and her character, Diljit, goes through it, the pain and the suffering and also the fight back posed by her is exemplary! The readers can easily relate to this novel and find themselves in concurring positions. 

Tuesday, 10 October 2017

An Apology for Shakespeare by S A Joseph | Book Review



Poetry writing in the English language has never been the nativity of the Indian literary figures but still, the pedestal that they have attained is highly praiseworthy! We had the poets like Tagore and we have the poets like Vikram Seth at the present. Nevertheless, in between the greats, there are the poets who are making valuable contribution to the world of poetry and some of them are actually doing something worthy to be hailed and tauted - and one of them is S A Joseph from Kerala. His debut book An Apology for Shakespeare has fetched the praises of some of the most popular book critics in India as well as among the poetry readers, the book has been a subject of discussion. 

Tuesday, 3 October 2017

We Are BACK! BOOKS, REVIEWS, LITERATURE

There are a number of book bloggers on the web these days and it has, somehow, pushed the graph of the interest in literature to a further height and this is really increasing! We are very happy seeing things going a better way and readers are not only taking interest in reading books but also in reading more about the books. You will find many book reviews on the web as well as more about the books on the web too. Book Reviews Online, our venture, is a part of that widening fraternity and we strive towards proving the best of the content to our readers. We have been silent for months now, because we had some issues with our servers and also the staff were not properly enjoying freedom. We are all mostly the students and it had to do with our studies too. We are back!

Saturday, 19 August 2017

The Elephant Chaser's Daughter | Book Review



Dear readers, gone are the days when we used to say that only suspense fiction and thriller detective tales could get our reading senses craving and up! Today, I am going to tell you about a book, and surprisingly a memoir, which has taken the town a buzz - The Elephant Chaser's Daughter by Shilpa Raj. It's the very debut work of Shilpa but her writing style and the vision of the book has given her the recognition to stand in the front row of Indian writings in English! The Elephant Chaser's Daughter was released on 28th of July when Shilpa and many guests unveiled the book at a gathering of literary enthusiasts and other guests. 

Published by Rupa Publications, Shilpa Raj has been working on her debut book for more than 7 years. Her memoir chronicles the family history, Shilpa's individual struggles, her mother's story, her grandparents narrative and her sister's tragic death. These things surely look like 'just a person's autobiographical records' but when one reader reads the book, then the craft of Shilpa's literary skills open up. Wonderfully enough, Shilpa has created a narrative which does not only speak for herself but for many and many other individuals who have been through the same life at different times. 

Prabhat Ranjan's Debut Work - With You; Without You


Have you ever loved your best friend? This is surely a question which might get everyone at the edge all of sudden, ain't it? Prabhat Ranjan's debut work, With You; Without You, a novel written in Hindi language asks the same questions of the readers. His book is due to be released sometime next month, September 2017. Nevertheless, the pre-release buzz for the book has been in the air for a while. An engineer by profession, Prabhat Ranjan works for Indian government per se but his love for literature has always kept him bound to paper and pen and he has been writing for a while now. 

Friday, 18 August 2017

Playing It My Way: Sachin Tendulkar - Book Review


Sachin Tendulkar's Playing it My Way is an international bestseller from the very first day it was launched. It has broken all the previously set records for pre-launch booking even in the fiction category, leave the nonfiction genre apart. The book, published by Hodder & Stoughton, and co-authored by Sachin Tendulkar and Boria Majumdar, has revealed the secrets of life of a player who for 24 long years have been carrying the aspirations of a nation of a billion and more people on the 22 yards of cricket pitch! Sachin Tendulkar is the name of a brand which did never stop selling the runs! 

Thursday, 27 July 2017

The Elephant Chaser's Daughter by Shilpa Raj


Shilpa Raj is the first ever woman author from India belonging to a Dalit community who has written a memoir! She belongs to the class of people which is considered as 'untouchable' and in India, there are still the people who take a deep interest in taking pleasure in such practices. Shilpa's debut book, a memoir, The Elephant Chaser's Daughter is an attack on the same practices of discrimination, untouchability, casteism and many other follies which are still there in the society, acting as hindrances on our way to a new India. Her book will be launched on 28th of July 2017 and will be available in stores as well as shopping websites. 

Saturday, 20 May 2017

The Protectors of the Aesner



The Protectors of the Aesner by Srinath S is a novel which you cannot put in a certain frame or can apply many different genres at the same time. This is a novel which brings science fiction with it as well as the magical realms from the forgotten annals of history... there is witchcraft; there is black magic and there are also many different details which any reader would love to read. In short, the novel has the quality which can attract many readers and its easy flow makes it a smooth reading. 

Rafflesia - The Banished Princess


A novel with the title which describes a princess in exile and a cover image which depicts a woman's face, beautiful, but the story of the novel is much more encircled around a person named Appu - a boy who goes on to become a youth and makes a man of himself at the end... Rafflesia - The Banished Princess is a novel which will leave you with different impressions and only one feeling - a feeling of connectivity with the protagonist Appu and a disgust against the modern society. 

Sunday, 26 March 2017

Monsoon Minds by Ravi Nambiar

Monsoon Minds Ravi Nambiar

What is the true pleasure of reading a short story? This is a valid question as we are all eager to read short stories for they are short and don't require long time commitments from us. You can finish it in an hour, half an hours or within a few hours if it's a little longer than the usual. The question of what you take out from a short story got its best answer when our team got the book Monsoon Minds by Ravi Nambiar. This is a collection of eighteen short stories. Being a debut book by the author, you get even more than what you expect Monsoon Minds to be! The stories are sentimental and a kind of 'towards' movement you will find in most of them... 

Friday, 17 March 2017

Hardaul Ek Bharatiya Yuva ki Soch



The tales of our ancient days are always fascinating and India, having so deep a history, is the queen of folklores and legends. Every part of India - from north to south, east to west or the central plains... we have stories coming from ages. One of such stories is the story of the prince of Orchha, Madhya Pradesh - Lala Hardaul. Lala Hardaul's legend has been wonderfully recapitulated in a book by author Rakesh Sharma and the title of the book is - Hardaul: Ek Bharatiya Yuva ki Soch. Rakesh has given the legendary story a slightly different touch and made it a story which connotes the modern scenario.

Tuesday, 21 February 2017

Mother Teresa Canonized or Crucified by Gerard


How many of you know mother Teresa? If we ask this question, most of the people would think of us as crazy people just posing unthought questions to people. However, how many of you know that Mother Teresa was going through a faith crisis? How many of you know that Mother Teresa, at a time of her life, was unable to decide whether she believed in God or not? There are many such interesting things about the life of Mother Teresa that you might not be knowing. All this, including many interesting facts about the dead saint, we have found out from the book Mother Teresa Canonized or Crucified, a book which is written by Gerard. 

Sunday, 5 February 2017

Guy on the Sidewalk | Novel


Guy on the Sidewalk is a novel by Bharath Krishna which wonderfully depicts the mental contours through which the NRIs often pass. This is a novel of conflict; this is a writing of sensible understanding of responsibility; this is a novel of a typical dilemma in love - commit or move towards something which needs more of the attention. The author has touched all these vital cores which make this novel a one piece invoking the attention of readers from different groups. Indeed, Guy on the Sidewalk is also a modern novel in its linguistic approach; however, this was the necessary tool to bind the emotions with the characters. Young people do speak like this, no wonder! 

The leading character in the novel, Jay, who is an NRI and like most of them, still wondering what to do. He struggles with his education, with the training, with getting a job and with his love interest too. Towards the ending of the novel, however, he gets all of these settled. Jay gets a good job and also lives happily with his beloved, Siri. Nevertheless, this is not the point where the novel concludes. The major conflict in the novel begins only after Jay, the Guy on the Sidewalk, gets everything he could wish for - Siri, a job with a handsome salary and a life ahead. 

The call from inside, an urge to wake up and get back to the land - the motherland, and a kind of disillusion hounds Jay. He is unable to decide what to do and what not to do. He thinks of Siri, his girlfriend, who happens to be the divorcee and mother of a beautiful girl, and also thinks of India, the country for which he wants to do something. The conflict almost takes a toll on their relationship when Jay discusses all these running in his mind with Siri. However, towards the end, Jay manages to coax her mind and he is all set to return to India. 

The novel ends when Jay wakes up and finds that the plane has landed on the soil of India. He deboards and the first thing he does is calling Siri and telling her that he has reached. What would Jay do in India is now up to the Author Bharath Krishna who might very well come up with the second novel as a sequel to Guy on the Sidewalk! However, asking about the same, when Alok Mishra inquired, Bharath denied that. He told that he would not come up with the second novel in the series. Meanwhile, this is all for us! The novel is indeed interesting and also has one or two intimate scenes which might very well be transformed into sizzling bed scenes in a Bollywood movie! Enjoy the novel guys... and that's all from the #TeamBRW for now! 

Sunday, 8 January 2017

The Allegorical Expedition Book Review



While there are guys like some well-known authors in the country out there writing almost crap and making bucks, we often tend to forego some real stunning books written by really talented authors and when later we come across the same lot, we are like - 'oh! how could this happen?' Today, the #TeamBRW, meaning Book Reviews Web, have come across one of that lot - The Allegorical Expedition, a novel written by the debutant author P Satyadeep. As the title reflects, it does not have any predictability like a girl, a boy, a girlfriend (no matter full or half) or love (no matter forever or not) or facebook piece of wacks! The book is a stand apart, a class and a different read. P Satyadeep has weaved his story mostly like those ancient Victorian or the early twenties literature in which the character is wrestling with his inner being and looking out for what the world really is. Do you remember Jane Eyre? (You are almost there!) We will make it even easier to you. Read on... 

Thursday, 5 January 2017

19th Akshauhini algorithm of the Gita

19th Akshauhini algorithm of the Gita



19th Akshauhini algorithm of the Gita is a book which will give you the basic as well as the most debated concepts of Gita, the holiest, the most philosophical book ever produced (if at all we consider it as a produced book). Gita, as described by the author, Haribakth, is the text collected directly coming from the supreme being – Lord Krishna! True and undoubtedly, one who believes in the Vedas and knows at least the basic nuances of our Hindu Dharma and the greatness that the scriptures possess will believe what Haribakth has to offer. Moreover, what we would like the most in the book is that it’s not only for the intellectual readers like most of the spiritual books generally are; even a basic reader or a beginner in the Gita studies can easily and very usefully study this book. The nuance and the core of the book has been described very beautifully in the book by the author. We will mention some of those qualities of the book in the course of this review.

Wednesday, 4 January 2017

Book Promotions Online: How to


The world is going online and we are getting more and more digital day by day. We are doing most of our things online - reading, writing, purchasing, booking hotel, booking flights, booking flats, and even selecting a life-partner. While we are in no condition to comment on all of these, we will surely take up the issue of online reading & writing. You must be aware of the Kindle e-books; you must know many of the websites which offer online courses; you must know many of the websites which offer their opinions or suggestions whether you should read a book or not, backed up with their arguments in favour of either of the cases. Book Reviews Web is the same kind of a website which offers online reviews of the books that our members read. Whether a classic as old as Homer or a contemporary as new as Jeet Thayil, we read what we like and post the book reviews on this website. This is, in simplest terms, what we do.