Monday, 9 March 2020

The Girl in the Dream by Pravin Agarwal - Book Review





The Girl in the Dream is a novel that develops in a multi-fold manner. The plot develops subtly with the storyline going back and forth in a dream and then the present reality. Even being the very debut work by Pravin Agarwal, this novel displays a mature sense of fiction and it symmetrically progresses by taking the readers indulgence along with the major storyline. For the readers who are too quick to take the call whether to read a book or not, The Girl in the Dream (A love story planned 500 years ago) takes the course of a dream-reveal technique and the major characters are Vivaan, Riya, Rachit and Swara. These characters are linked in the present life as well as their past life by very interesting and thought-provoking scenarios and situations. Yes, this is predominantly a love story - as the subtitle further intensifies. However, what happens? Who loves whom? What is the link to the past - 500 years ago? There are many things that the readers will find in the course of their reading of the novel. If you ask for my one-word advice - I give this book a yes vote. If you want to know better, read the next two paragraphs. 

Friday, 7 February 2020

23rd June 2169: Will Ztocmi Be Able to Put Earth Resort into the Orbit? - Review





I am not sure whether many people in India love non-fiction or not. However, I can be damn sure that too many people in India would love to read a meaningful science fiction if they are given a chance. I recently had the opportunity to read a wonderful sci-fi novel by Gajender Sharma - 23rd June 2169. Can you guess it right? Yes, it is a futuristic novel that brings to the readers a glimpse of the nearly-distant future - a hundred years from now. Central protagonist in the novel is Ztocmi who is a young scientist working on a very ambitious project named the Earth Resort. The novel covers a timespan of 9 years: 2160-69. 

Monday, 18 November 2019

I-Spy: A Peep into the World of Spies by Amit Bagaria - Review



I-Spy: A Peep into the World of Spies is a non-fiction title written by a famous author from India, Amit Bagaria. He has been publishing a number of books on various international and national issues in recent months. His title is a voluminous book that details the details about spies, their work profile, their life, their skills and also about various international intelligence agencies and their major achievements in terms of successful operations. So, the book has a special genre and all those who love watching James Bond and Ethan Hunt movies on TV will like reading this book too. The book has earned appreciation from the leading book review websites in India

Sunday, 10 November 2019

Demythsifying Myths by Amit Bagaria - Book Review




Dear readers, I hope the days have been eventful for you. I am back with a book review of a book I read recently and I am sure it will ring the bells for you as well. Demythsifying Myths: Demystifying 18 Myths about India is a title that has been written by a very popular, and emerging in the recent months, author Amit Bagaria from India. This book offers the readers various truths and post-truths that the ‘system’ and system savers have kept from all of us.

Tuesday, 10 September 2019

Sense and Syllogism: Logic in Life - Aparna Tulpule - Review



Sense and Syllogism: Logic in Life is a book authored by Aparna Tulpule. She calls herself a logic enthusiast and the purpose of writing this book is to share her opinions with others. Well, once you start reading the book from the beginning, you can seldom stop yourself from believing that the work you are currently reading is highly interesting, engaging as well as compelling. Though the book can certainly be categorised as a non-fiction work or even academic work, there is no lack of interesting content - I would say it's way better than reading the regular romantic novels that have made me older before time! 

Sunday, 1 September 2019

Kahaniwala - Hindi - Sandeep Dobriyal - Book Review



Kahaniwala by Sandeep Dobriyal is the latest book I have read this year. Published not very long ago, this is a collection of short stories written in contemporary Hindi. There are 9 stories in this collection but the title focuses more on the storyteller rather than the stories - Kahaniwala. The hashtag at the beginning of the title confirms that it is meant to be enjoyed by the youths. So, I did read all the stories and I have my experiences to share with the readers of Book Reviews Web. 

Wednesday, 21 August 2019

13 Untitled and Weird Poems - Alok Mishra - Book Review




The poetry collection by Alok Mishra, 13 Untitled and Weird Poems, has been a lingering read for me. It demanded mental exercise and I complied. However, even after that, it remained a mystery to a great extent. What could the messages mean? What did the intriguing plots suggest?  Cryptic poems really leave your mind in a mess and getting out of it becomes very difficult because different people view poetry differently. Unlike novel where a common consensus might be possible, a common consensus in poetry is remotely impossible. So, how did I like the book 13 Untitled and Weird Poems? Let me share that with you all.