Tuesday, 21 April 2020

What kind of poems you should read today?

Is reading poetry worth today? In the present scenario when we are suffering and suffering constantly, the admirers of poetry will say that we do need to have such kinds of recreational activities like reading poetry. However, is it that effective? Will poetry save us from boredom or it will just further augment the pain? There may be many opinions about it. The idea is simple – should one read poetry today? 

Wednesday, 15 April 2020

The World's Oldest, Most Powerful Secret Society: Book Review



The World's Oldest, Most Powerful Secret Society is a work of fantasy fiction genre, may also be bracketed with Children's literature label, by Anand Arungundram Mohan, an Indian author. This novel has become popular among the lovers of the fantasy genre and many readers have found this to be an interesting, entertaining and also a well-crafted piece of fiction by Anand. The novel appears to be the first instalment in a series planned by Anand, The Journey. So, we can expect more novels with the adventures of The Nifty Nine, a gang of nine children around whom the novel revolves. 

Wednesday, 18 March 2020

Indian English Poetry by M. K. Naik | Book Review

M. K. Naik's book Indian English Poetry: from the beginnings upto 2000 is a widely regarded book among English literature students. This is, perhaps, the only credible book by any Indian literature scholar that critically summarises the poetry of many Indian English poets right from the beginning to the present time. This present time, however, is relative here. It is roughly around 2000, one year before and after and the book needs a major update. However, for the purposes of research and studies, the book by M. K. Naik is a perfect piece of critical writing that can be very valuable for any student of Indian English literature.

Monday, 9 March 2020

The Girl in the Dream by Pravin Agarwal - Book Review





The Girl in the Dream is a novel that develops in a multi-fold manner. The plot develops subtly with the storyline going back and forth in a dream and then the present reality. Even being the very debut work by Pravin Agarwal, this novel displays a mature sense of fiction and it symmetrically progresses by taking the readers indulgence along with the major storyline. For the readers who are too quick to take the call whether to read a book or not, The Girl in the Dream (A love story planned 500 years ago) takes the course of a dream-reveal technique and the major characters are Vivaan, Riya, Rachit and Swara. These characters are linked in the present life as well as their past life by very interesting and thought-provoking scenarios and situations. Yes, this is predominantly a love story - as the subtitle further intensifies. However, what happens? Who loves whom? What is the link to the past - 500 years ago? There are many things that the readers will find in the course of their reading of the novel. If you ask for my one-word advice - I give this book a yes vote. If you want to know better, read the next two paragraphs. 

Friday, 7 February 2020

23rd June 2169: Will Ztocmi Be Able to Put Earth Resort into the Orbit? - Review





I am not sure whether many people in India love non-fiction or not. However, I can be damn sure that too many people in India would love to read a meaningful science fiction if they are given a chance. I recently had the opportunity to read a wonderful sci-fi novel by Gajender Sharma - 23rd June 2169. Can you guess it right? Yes, it is a futuristic novel that brings to the readers a glimpse of the nearly-distant future - a hundred years from now. Central protagonist in the novel is Ztocmi who is a young scientist working on a very ambitious project named the Earth Resort. The novel covers a timespan of 9 years: 2160-69. 

Monday, 18 November 2019

I-Spy: A Peep into the World of Spies by Amit Bagaria - Review



I-Spy: A Peep into the World of Spies is a non-fiction title written by a famous author from India, Amit Bagaria. He has been publishing a number of books on various international and national issues in recent months. His title is a voluminous book that details the details about spies, their work profile, their life, their skills and also about various international intelligence agencies and their major achievements in terms of successful operations. So, the book has a special genre and all those who love watching James Bond and Ethan Hunt movies on TV will like reading this book too. The book has earned appreciation from the leading book review websites in India

Sunday, 10 November 2019

Demythsifying Myths by Amit Bagaria - Book Review




Dear readers, I hope the days have been eventful for you. I am back with a book review of a book I read recently and I am sure it will ring the bells for you as well. Demythsifying Myths: Demystifying 18 Myths about India is a title that has been written by a very popular, and emerging in the recent months, author Amit Bagaria from India. This book offers the readers various truths and post-truths that the ‘system’ and system savers have kept from all of us.