Thursday, 15 November 2018

Can Goodreads reviews get you free books?





Readers, do you review books on Goodreads too? As a curious and aware reader, I do review books on Goodreads and make the most out of it. Do you know that you can get free copies of books for Goodreads reviews? Yes, very much! The authors and publishers often give away free copies of the books they want to get reviewed by the honest readers on Goodreads and other platforms. So, if you are ready to lend your helping hands to the authors who are wondering how to get Goodreads reviews, you are right there - standing in the line to get free copies of the books you might like. 

Friday, 9 November 2018

Misty Dawn - Marathon Race to Achhe Din - Poem Review

Phidalia Toi has been one of those consistent authors who has been tracking the developments of the current NDA government continuously. She has been keeping an eye on each and every, tiny or giant steps of the government to ensure she does not miss anything which has significance because she has been recording it all in the series - Marathon Race to Acche Din. So far, four parts have been written. However, today, we will look into a poem by her that was supplied with the very first part of the book - The Dawn. It has been customary about the books in her series that she summaries the whole year in a single poem at the end of the book, and to put it forth, very symbolically and succinctly as well. 

Monday, 5 November 2018

Enjoying poetry for leisure... some tips!



Poetry reading has always been a favourite pass time for me. At times, I also read poems to understand things better and enjoy the supreme flow of thoughts. As a student, I studied poetry for my exams and now, as I am just a happiness-seeking person enrolled in verse and rhymes, I read poetry just for my pleasure. And it's certainly coming to my mind that studying poetry for different purposes has different methods about it. So, today I will discuss a few steps which will make reading poetry for pleasure a little more fun and enjoyable. 

Thursday, 4 October 2018

M. H. Abrams A Glossary of Literary Terms - Review

The name of M. H. Abrams is familiar to the students, academicians, teachers and professors of English literature. The scholar, professor and a distinguished literary personality, Mr Abrams, has written so many books and the most prominent among his oeuvre is certainly the acclaimed and the best-selling A Glossary of Literary Terms. The book does not go beyond 200 pages but it contains the most important things that a student might ever need in the periphery of English literature. Today, I am going to share my opinion about this essential and respected reference book. 

Thursday, 20 September 2018

Are you ready for Suraj Laxminarayanan's debut thriller? Elephants in the Room to be launched soon



Readers, the stage is almost ready for the launch of this month's or rather this year's much-awaited novel in the crime & thriller genre - Suraj Laxminarayanan's Elephants in the Room - a novel where the robbers are pulled into a tug of war and ultimately, the conclusion stuns them all! As of now, the book is set to be launched on September 24, 2018. There are the readers, including many from our group as well, waiting for this book to become available online on platforms like Amazon Flipkart so that we buy and read the book. Yes, there are also many lucky ones who had the opportunity to become the advance readers of the book, pre-launch. 

Monday, 10 September 2018

Indicting Goliath - Lal Bhatia's explosive autobiography



Lal Bhatia's debut book or rather an expose on how does the system function in the United States of America, Indicting Goliath, has been launched in July and it has been creating a very strong and engaging buzz in the public. Not just because the book reveals sinister plot to indict and get Mr Bhatia punished shrewdly but also because the author has exposed how the judges, officials in FBI and crime branch and even the politicians are hand in gloves with the crime lords who are involved in money laundering, black money mafias and even the deadly sins. In short, Indicting Goliath is a full package which tries to expose the corrupt and entirely unfixable nexus of dishonest and the criminals - in black and white collars! 

Friday, 10 August 2018

The Guide by R. K. Narayan



R. K. Narayan's journey as an Indian English novelist has been full of a certain life, a lively experience which goes on... forever. Since the very beginning of his career, readers must have understood what kind of an author he was destined to become. Narayan's novels, most of them, incline towards Indianness, Indian and India... be it the dilemma of horoscope or the impression of first love or even the desire to leave everything and surrender oneself to God. The Guide, let me tell the readers, is a novel which is complete and also raises several questions. Is life a purgatory? Is Maya real? Is the world an illusion and we have to leave it a day for some upper world?