Friday, 3 August 2018

Books on our reading list this month - Update

Dear readers, hope you are all ready for the August reading challenge! We are up! For the August month, we have lined up several books and we will brief about those here. Our readers and critics will be reading these books and adding their thoughts, reviews or critical insights into these very soon. What are you reading by the way? 

Monday, 30 July 2018

Making a Poem by Vihang Naik



Poetry reading is always cool. However, just decline the modern terminology which banners poetry as something hot - we are not letting the sensual lines on Instagram and Facebook take the pose as poetry! I only consider meaningful poetry to be the real poetry and today I am talking of a leading India's poet in English, Vihang Naik's collection - Making a Poem. Though the collection is old but he has republished it with the Authors Press publication and that's how I got to read this wonderful collection. I will share my thoughts on the poetry collection today. 

Monday, 23 July 2018

Sikkim in my Love Story by Narsing Nirzat



Sikkim is one of the most beautiful states of India without a doubt and that's why it's the tourist spot likely to be visited when someone plans a trip to north-east India. However, how many of us know about the tradition of Sikkim? How many of us know the real story of Sikkim? How many of us think how did Sikkim age? To all these questions, a recently launched fiction book can be the answer - Sikkim in my Love Story - a collection of short stories by a talented and popular author from Sikkim himself, Narsing Nirzat. His book has nine long-short stories and each has an equal length - 34 pages. 

Wednesday, 4 July 2018

The Forgotten Shivlinga of the Sati Shaktipeeths



Many times, in the recent months, I have been through religious and spiritual books and some of them were highly appreciable and commendable. One such is the title by Pratha Sharma - The Forgotten Shivlinga of the Sati Shaktipeeths. This book traces the trends and the tradition of Shaktipeeths which, according to the author Pratha Sharma, also had the place reserved for Shivlingas! So, what's in the book? Let's review it! 

Wednesday, 27 June 2018

BookWorms are here!



Hey guys... there are many websites on the internet which go on producing quality book reviews for the lovers of books and literature. However, how many of the websites actually appeal to the visitors aesthetically as well as content-wise? We have traced websites (relatively new) - BookWorm Reviews. The websites will certainly go on becoming one of the best book reviews blogs in India! Are you ready to know more about it? 

Sunday, 10 June 2018

The History of Sexuality by Foucault

This book, to be frank, does nothing more than letting the readers know exactly what it claims - 'when' of the sexual discourse. Victorian regime came up with the idea of secrecy and a kind of censorship which brought upon an unholy 'holistic' idea. Sex and sexuality need not be discussed in the public as it might damage the understanding of people and it will bring a horrible situation in the society. Sexuality only happened to exist freely after the advent of modernism and then post-modernism and then the freedom. 

Tuesday, 29 May 2018

Vanity Fair by William Thackeray



How many of us actually read this novel without compulsion? I guess that will be about 20%, maybe... Vanity Fair is a bulky novel and it has some hardcore writing which cannot be tolerated by the casual readers who want to enjoy the juice without tasting even a single seed going inside the mouth with the liquid. On the other hand, for the classic readers who are hardcore readers themselves, Vanity Fair will certainly prove to be one masculine novel with a female leading the characters... Rebecca... and no other person affects the minds of the readers in this novel like she does. 

Friday, 18 May 2018

All roads lead to Rome - your one stop destination for literature news!

Hey guys! 
Hope you all are doing good! Like we always tell you that we bring some of the best updates for literary enthusiasts every time we find something, today also we have brought you something similar. You can use this new finding as your resource for news articles on English literature and literature in general - Literature News. 

Tuesday, 8 May 2018

Far from the Madding Crowd

Thomas Hardy was not a simple novelist who only focused on creating his plots and then adding some twists to it before pronouncing it as a novel or a work of fiction. He was, to be honset, someone beyond the noun - a 'novelist'. His art was subtle and his novels were nothing short of fiction-orgasms. And I will be reviewing his famous novel Far from the Madding Crowd today. 



Monday, 30 April 2018

Have you written a book? Do you need book promotions? Tips for Authors

Many first-time authors often remain a one-book-author because they don't understand the basics of book promotions and fail. After writing a book, the first thing that the authors should focus on is book promotions. Today, in this post, I will tell all of you (the authors) how to promote the books and remain in the game rather than getting out of the game after very first book. What does it take? It takes book promotions... 

Thursday, 12 April 2018

What does a book blogger do?

Being a book blogger means reading a lot of books and posting reviews on your website. 



This is something that people generally believe to be the gospel truth when it comes to identifying the book bloggers in India. Maybe the world as well... means, who knows! However, it is beyond the realms of truth for now. What does a book blogger do? Does that blogger who blogs on books always read? No! Yes, he or she reads more than the ordinary readers but not all the times. The book bloggers have many things to do beyond reading - finding good books, beating the stress of reading same old content, finding some innovation, picking the authors and coping with the 'bad fiction,' finding some really great non-fiction books to get out of the web of fancy... yes, you are guessing it right - they have many a thing to do! 

Monday, 2 April 2018

Beyond the books - let's interact with book lovers!

Hello dear members! Hope you are all fine and doing great. I am writing this post to let you all know about something very interesting and something which will keep you engaged in the free hours. I am letting you all know about India Book Club - an online book club which will connect the readers across the country. It is also available in the offline world and readers can join it in their locality and if not, they can create one under the guidance of IBC. Have you joined the book club yet? 

Thursday, 15 March 2018

Little Maryam - book review




Little Maryam is the debut novel by Hamid Baig and was launched on the republic day of India, this year. After the launch on 26th January 2018, the novel has been listed on the lists of bestsellers under different categories and with different phrases. However, the common thing that comes while describing this novel is that Little Maryam is a romantic novel and it can be put in the romance genre. Is it so? Whatever be the case, today, I will be writing my review for this quick-selling and popular novel by Hamid which has been appreciated by the readers and book bloggers in India as well as the critics alike. 

Monday, 12 March 2018

American Maharajah - book review


American Maharajah is the second novel written by USA based author, Mark Stephen Levy. Exclusively published in India, the novel has been doing very well among the readers in India because it deals with a story which is directly connected to a village (imaginary) in Rajasthan which is popular in India for its kings and queens from the past. Mark begins the novel with an invocation of the past - the time when a prince has come back from the dead and after his arrival, the spring has vanished from that state of Bharathambhhor. 

Monday, 5 February 2018

Freedom from the Known - book review



Freedom from the Known is a book by very famous Indian spiritual leader J Krishnamurti. In this book, the author's (or better, the speaker Krishnamurti's) thoughts are collected in the form of chapters and presented to the readers who want to seek a life which they can enjoy without any worry and difficulty in the heart and soul. The motive that is dealt in this book by Jiddu Krishnamurti is to free oneself from the social bondage and yet remaining very much within the society and enjoying the life as it is, without making a great deal of fuss.  

Thursday, 18 January 2018

To The Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf



Coming to the novel, much debated in the 20th century, To The Lighthouse by Virginia Woold, we can say one thing with confidence or at least, conviction. The novel is lesser a novel and more a psychological journey into the psyche of humanity - the then humanity which had a grand grip over the thoughts and actions of human beings - dilemma, delusion, indecisiveness, and much more. Woolf has clearly portrayed a picture which is lesser a whole and more a fragment which shows the fragmented human life which was not sure of anything. To The Lighthouse is lesser the light and more the darkness of hopelessness and dismay. A novel, necessary it was then, to show us how meek we were and still continue to be. 

Wednesday, 10 January 2018

Rise of Hindi and Regional Language Literature in India

The rise of Hindi literature or literature in the local and regional languages of India is certainly a good sign for the lovers of Indian literature. Literature written in English, no doubt, is very important as it directly represents the Indian on a global stage without any decoding needed. However, we cannot deny that there are the talents on Indian streets who don't know English language but they do deserve the highlight and focus as their imagination and power of perception is no way lesser than those who write only in English. In the recent years, we must be happy knowing that the literature in regional languages along with Hindi has gone to a record height. We have more and more authors who are willing to contribute to the culminative outcome of Indian literature in their language. They are getting popular as well as their book is also selling in good numbers. 

Wednesday, 3 January 2018

Amitav Ghosh & Arundhati Roy - the fiction beyond fiction

Comparing Amitav Ghosh with Arundhati Roy might seem an act of comparing apples with oranges; however, such an analogy gives the readers or the person who is comparing a chance to understand these two authors rather closely. Today, I will be doing the same as I want to take it a little further. I have read the novels written by these two and have found them really subtle and a little awe-inspiring as well. Moreover, what else do you want when you read a novel? A deep fiction, an artful plot and a decisive conclusion - may be that people want something other and few extra miles but I am happy with this things. So, do I get all these in the novels written by Arundhati Roy and Amitav Ghosh? Yes, I do get these things. However, I do get something extra as well and let me tell you what's that and how do these two differ from each other.