Tuesday, 10 September 2019

Sense and Syllogism: Logic in Life - Aparna Tulpule - Review



Sense and Syllogism: Logic in Life is a book authored by Aparna Tulpule. She calls herself a logic enthusiast and the purpose of writing this book is to share her opinions with others. Well, once you start reading the book from the beginning, you can seldom stop yourself from believing that the work you are currently reading is highly interesting, engaging as well as compelling. Though the book can certainly be categorised as a non-fiction work or even academic work, there is no lack of interesting content - I would say it's way better than reading the regular romantic novels that have made me older before time! 

Sunday, 1 September 2019

Kahaniwala - Hindi - Sandeep Dobriyal - Book Review



Kahaniwala by Sandeep Dobriyal is the latest book I have read this year. Published not very long ago, this is a collection of short stories written in contemporary Hindi. There are 9 stories in this collection but the title focuses more on the storyteller rather than the stories - Kahaniwala. The hashtag at the beginning of the title confirms that it is meant to be enjoyed by the youths. So, I did read all the stories and I have my experiences to share with the readers of Book Reviews Web. 

Wednesday, 21 August 2019

13 Untitled and Weird Poems - Alok Mishra - Book Review




The poetry collection by Alok Mishra, 13 Untitled and Weird Poems, has been a lingering read for me. It demanded mental exercise and I complied. However, even after that, it remained a mystery to a great extent. What could the messages mean? What did the intriguing plots suggest?  Cryptic poems really leave your mind in a mess and getting out of it becomes very difficult because different people view poetry differently. Unlike novel where a common consensus might be possible, a common consensus in poetry is remotely impossible. So, how did I like the book 13 Untitled and Weird Poems? Let me share that with you all. 

Wednesday, 14 August 2019

Crime Thriller Fiction in India - opportunities for new authors

In Indian English fiction, the sudden rise of readers' interest in crime thriller fiction has left many authors answerless because the demand of the readers is not very easy to cater. Readers have become smart, conscious and also very careful about what they read in the name of fiction. It is no more the age of 90s when movie producers and directors used the same theme of revenge and romance time and again and the audience still did not get bored of it. Today, if you repeat something, you lose your charm and readers won't think about reading your work again. In short, it has become too challenging for the authors to produce entirely new crime thriller literature every time they write something. 

Thursday, 30 May 2019

Self-publishing is the new cool in India - Opinion




The rise of self-publishing in India has left many doors open for the authors who want to exhibit their writing skills in front of a wide range of audience in the country. The traditional publishers have almost made it impossible for the emerging authors to get published with a mark of honour (so-called). And therefore, emerging but ambitious authors rather opt for self-publishing and look for their space in the writing industry and hence in the readers' Vanity Fair. 

Friday, 10 May 2019

Developing Consciousness by Nicholas Vesey - Book Review




There are numerous books that have been written on spirituality. And most of those authors have taken a different path to justify their arguments. Every writer has something of his or her own to contribute and this is what an ideal situation should be. Spirituality is an age-long process and it has been evolving since long. In India, we have a very rich heritage in terms of spiritual literature, spiritual science, and the very spirituality. However, today I will talk about a different kind of work in the field of spiritual science - Developing Consciousness by Nicholas Vesey. In this book, the author talks about various ways one can realise the true inner potential and awaken one's soul towards enlightenment.

Tuesday, 30 April 2019

The Art of Public Speaking by Dale Carnegie - Book Review



Speaking properly is an art and public speaking is an absolute art. I think most of us are either afraid of public speaking or make common mistakes. There is the psychology behind speaking well in public. From the pages of history, we can pick some of the best speakers who stood tall in front of the public and delivered some of the renowned speeches which are still remembered by us. After listening to them we try to imitate them but imitating is not the solution to the problem. It requires regular practice, building confidence and enhancing regularly. Hesitation and psychological fear of losing is the biggest obstacle in public speaking. In order to overcome this fear, there are certain principles and guidelines. So, today I am going to talk about a famous book by Dale Carnegie entitled "The Art of Public Speaking." This is one of the widely read books across the globe. 

Friday, 12 April 2019

Lambs Tales from Shakespeare - Book Review




There is no doubt that Shakespeare is the best writer in English Literature; he was so and he might enjoy this entitlement as long as we continue to be the inhabitants of this plant. Am I exaggerating? Maybe but I am only saying what I have been feeling all the way after reading so much of English literature. His dramas are famous worldwide and still able to fit in the current context and that's where his speciality is. It's a dream of everyone to read Shakespeare but honestly speaking his writings are a bit hard to be understood by a normal reader. But someone has thought to make it easier for common readers as well. I am talking about the famous book entitled 'Lambs' Tales from Shakespeare' by Charles Lamb and his sister who is often forgotten, Mary. The world of readers will always be indebted to these two fine people!  

Thursday, 4 April 2019

Steve Jobs by Walter Isaacson - Book Review



In the world of two decades ago, children were often advised to read as many biographies of great personalities as they could. It had a reason - the lives of great people inspire us to become better persons and achieve something more than just for oneself. Reading a biography also becomes important because it is not written by oneself. It is written by someone else who has observed the life of a person from ringside and notes down every possible aspect - pros and cons of a person. Today, I will be reviewing the biography of Steve Jobs, written by Walter Isaacson. 

Sunday, 17 March 2019

Author Ravi Dabral - bringing the best of characters to the readers




Ravi Dabral is an author who has chosen the path of serious writing for his new innings in life as an author. He has written his debut book, a nonfictional work, on the subject of well-being and happiness. In that book, titled Secrets of a Healthy, Wealthy and Happy Life, the author has discussed the secrets and art of leading a happy life that he learnt from the Yogis and Gurus of the Himalayan and other parts of India. In his second book, which is also his very first novel, Greed Lust Addiction, he has maintained the same qualities of writing. In fact, if you read the novel carefully, you will realise that it offers the reading pleasure of a fiction and the aesthetics of non-fiction. Ravi Dabral has mixed entertainment of a thriller with the lessons of a philosophic novel - he has discussed, in details, the advantages of chanting, dhyana, secrets of being satisfied and happy in life. Let's know a little more about the author! 

Tuesday, 22 January 2019

Elephants in the Room - Novel by Suraj

Book Name - Elephants in the Room 
Author - Suraj Laxminarayanan 
Published - 2018
Publisher - The Write Place 
Length - Lengthy 
Rating - 3/5



Well, I expected to read something that would suffice for my expectations of being a crime thriller and I, well, to an extent, am satisfied as well. However, the novel did not level up with all my expectations and previous experiences of reading crime thrillers. I will give it to Suraj because he has just begun his journey as an author and I have well-reached my journey as a reader! So, let's get it started.